Tuesday, April 16, 2024
HomeWorld NewsBangladesh Election Result 2024 Sheikh Hasina wins 5th term, Awami League BNP...

Bangladesh Election Result 2024 Sheikh Hasina wins 5th term, Awami League BNP protests Bangladesh general election

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina won re-election for the fifth time on Sunday after an opposition boycott, with her party winning at least half the seats, the country’s Election Commission said as vote counting continued. The ruling Awami League has won more than 50 percent of the total 299 seats. Awami League chief Hasina was re-elected to Parliament from the Gopalganj-3 constituency in an election marred by sporadic violence and a notable boycott by the main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP).

The 76-year-old leader secured an astonishing 249,965 votes, leaving his nearest rival M Nizam Uddin Lashkar of the Bangladesh Supreme Party behind by just 469 votes, bdnews24 reported. Gopalganj Deputy Commissioner and Returning Officer Qazi Mahbubul Alam officially announced the results. According to news agency PTI, this is Hasina’s eighth consecutive victory on the Gopalganj-3 seat since 1986.

Bangladesh PM Hasina, who has been in power since 2009, is on her way to get a record fourth consecutive term and fifth term overall. According to preliminary results cited by PTI, ruling Awami League candidates are leading in most constituencies, indicating continued political dominance.

However, the general elections were not without controversy. As Chief Election Commissioner Qazi Habibul Awal said, voter turnout was low, initially estimated at around 40 percent, a figure that may change after the final count.

After casting her vote, the Bangladeshi Prime Minister told reporters, “BNP is a terrorist organization.” “I am doing my best to ensure that democracy continues in this country,” she said, as quoted by AFP.

Read this also Voting turnout remains low in Bangladesh amid BNP boycott as Hasina eyes fourth term, reports of violence – Top Points

Bangladesh Elections 2024: BNP to continue protest after boycotting voting

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party, led by former Prime Minister Khaleda Zia, chose to boycott the elections and has declared its intention to intensify anti-government protests through a peaceful public engagement program starting on Tuesday. PTI cited a report by the Dhaka Tribune newspaper as saying that the party considered the elections fraudulent and described the low turnout as a success of its boycott movement.

According to PTI, BNP standing committee member Abdul Moin Khan dismissed the elections as a sham, saying, “This is not an election. This is a fake election.” Khan highlighted the party’s commitment to continue the systematic struggle for democratic rights through peaceful means while awaiting support from the international community.

Facing allegations by the ruling Awami League of attempting to disrupt the elections, BNP leaders have outlined plans for peaceful democratic protest events to establish people’s right to vote.

The UN Special Envoy, Clement Nyaletsosi Wole, expressed deep concern over the repressive environment surrounding the elections in Bangladesh during a statement on Friday.

Subscribe and follow ABP Live on Telegram: https://t.me/officialabplive



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments